apitaiwan.blogg.se

Mac software for lion
Mac software for lion








Being able to manage my iPad (or hundreds of iPads) should have been as easy as logging into the server from Safari on the tablet and accepting a few conditions. First, certificate errors prevented me from accessing profile management tools from my iPad. Installation and setup, though, were the last things that I found simple about OS X Server. Pretty slick, right? Setting up sites, directory services, and just about everything else for which schools use on-premise servers is all contained in one simple console.

mac software for lion

The server software (actually just a collection of apps now, bundled together for about $50 in the App Store) installed without a hitch, setup is wizard-driven and very simple for anyone with even a very modest background in networking, and the console is dead simple. In this case, though, it just isn't happening. Apple tells us this all the time: "They just work." 99.9% of the time, that's completely true. But the whole idea, whether as a home user, a small business user, or school IT staff, is that I buy Lion Server from the Mac App Store, it installs itself, and then it runs. I probably could with enough Googling, tinkering, playing, and, most importantly, time. This isn't to say that I can't get it to work. The problem is that, for me at least (and many other users), it simply doesn't work.

#MAC SOFTWARE FOR LION FOR MAC#

It helps me justify the price I pay for Mac hardware and makes what should be an incredibly user-friendly server available to schools at a rock bottom price. Great idea - I love the idea that any Mac running the latest version of OS X can be turned into a full-fledged server with everything from a wiki to network backup to iOS profile management. OS X Lion Server is simply an add-on for any Mac running Lion. I should have known that Apple would come up with a cooler way to do servers, though.

mac software for lion

When Apple axed its XServe series of dedicated servers, I was none too happy that a highly usable, school-friendly server was probably going by the wayside.








Mac software for lion